Hey, I'm Azlin Bloor

Former chef, culinary instructor and food blogger.

For the last 10 years, I’ve been blogging over at LinsFood. But as that site grew and grew, I realised that I needed new homes for many of my precious recipes.

So in January 2021, I started Singaporean and Malaysian Recipes, what I call my nostalgic culinary affair.

In January 2022, I’m giving you this site, Middle Eastern RecipesMER is going to be full of recipes that speak to my heart and my soul, a glorious feast for the senses. And all the ingredients, exotic and otherwise, that I use in my Middle Eastern kitchen.

A Little About Me

I was born and raised in Singapore, for the most part, with a handful of those years being in Malaysia, as my dad was Malaysian. My family is extremely multicultural, as every single person since my parents’ generation (and all my grandmother’s brothers!) has married outside the original ethnic group.

So we’ve got Pakistanis, Indians, Malays, Chinese, Arabs, Eurasians, Europeans and a few other bits and bobs in the clan. Naturally, we are all multilingual, as we grew up speaking a minimum of three languages. So I speak 4 languages fluently, plus a few stuttering ones that’ll ensure I never go hungry nor get lost when on holiday!

Having grown up in such a family, and multicultural Singapore, there are many cuisines that I call “my own”. And since at one point in the 19th century, the Arabs owned more than half the island of Singapore, we are no strangers to Middle Eastern food.

I also spent a number of years in the 90s working and travelling in the region, so Middle Eastern recipes have always had a special place in my heart and my soul. I hope that this new site will adequately express the love I have for them, as my cooking classes do.

What Else would you like to know?

I moved to London in the early 90s and have been living in the UK since then. 
Home is on the south coast of England, in a seaside town called Bournemouth, with my 4 kids (I’m a widow).

I started homeschooling my kids over 10 years ago. Now, the oldest is doing his postgraduate studies in law, while #2 is about to start her undergraduate studies in Biological Sciences. That leaves me with 2 more homeschoolers for the foreseeable future. 

What do I do in my free time? I read a lot, about 2 books a week. I also enjoy working out and can’t survive without my daily yoga. I love my weekend movies with the kids, and having grown up on a diet of American tv, am still a huge fan of the usual suspects – SVU, NCIS, Grey’s, etc.

Oh, and thanks to the kids, I love Clash of Clans! 😄

Want to get in touch?

If you want to say hello, or have a request, just drop me a line at [email protected]

You might also fancy checking out my other 2 blogs:

LinsFood

Singaporean and Malaysian Recipes

.
.